We are proud to celebrate the worthy winners of this year's CEPLER and Law School awards, which recognise both academic excellence and outstanding achievement in extra-curricular endeavour.


The awards were presented by Professor Robert Lee, Director of CEPLER and Head of Birmingham Law School, at a reception following this year's graduation ceremony on Thursday 7th July.

Students receiving awards from CEPLER at the University of Birmingham

Our third annual prize-giving introduced a number of additional awards, recognising achievement in Research, Enterprise and Academic Performance in the four CEPLER academic modules. All of our winners have demonstrated extraordinary commitment to a host of CEPLER activities to increase their confidence, skills and knowledge and enhance their university experience.

  • Outstanding Contribution to Mooting, kindly sponsored by No5 Chambers: awarded to Rachel Jarvis and Nivedita Kulkarni for their dedication to the smooth running of mooting competitions.
  • Outstanding Contribution to Pro Bono, kindly sponsored by Mills & Reeve LLP: awarded to Sacha Hibbitt and Elliot Mountfield who, in their respective committee roles, went beyond expectations to serve the community.
  • Highest Achievement in Careers, kindly sponsored by Freeths: awarded to Zilvinas Cesulis for his unparalleled commitment and enthusiasm to CEPLER careers events.
  • Highest Achievement in CEPLER Professional Development, kindly sponsored by Pinsent Masons: awarded to Nivedita Kulkarni for embracing such a broad range of opportunity and achieving an exemplary score.
  • Highest Achieving Student in the CEPLER 'Regulation of the Legal Profession' module, kindly sponsored by Kingsley Napley: congratulations to Flavia Irti.
  • Highest Achieving Student in the CEPLER 'Global Legal Services' module, kindly sponsored by KPMG: congratulations to James McMurray.
  • Highest Achieving Student in the CEPLER 'Advocacy' module, kindly sponsored by Cornwall Street Chambers: congratulations to Shanze Shah.
  • Highest Achieving Student in the CEPLER 'Employment Law' module, congratulations to Demi Hughes.
  • The CEPLER Award for Enterprise: awarded to Stephanie Stevens for her intiative and determination in launching the 'Beyond My Ethnicity' magazine.
  • The CEPLER Award for Research Excellence, in recognition of dedication to ground-breaking research: awarded to five students who each devoted over 100 hours to contribute to the outstanding success of the UN Women project. Congratulations to: Magdalena Furgalska, Umaeno Nkposong, Collette Power, Natasha Rushton and Simone Thomas.
  • The CEPLER Head of School Award for Outstanding LLM Student: awarded to Collette Power, who exemplifies dedication to research for her participation in the UN Women project, Re-skill and the Birmingham Project.
  • The CEPLER Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extra-Curricular Endeavour, kindly sponsored by Shakespeare Martineau: this year's principal CEPLER award was given to Christopher Walker (pictured, right) a stellar example of dedication, support, encouragement and creativity. He has represented the School numerous times and led the Pro Bono Committee in the Group's most successful year to date.
  • Finally, CEPLER gave recognition to the success of our Pro Bono Group's fundraising endeavours this year, particularly to those participants in the Entrepreneur Challenge who raised a significant in aid of access to justice. The winning team: Gurpreet Ballagun, Elliot Mountfield, Farah Sheraz, Michael Sunkin and Anya Zubic; and the runners-up: Miriam Berlyne, Rachel Bush and Isabel Morgan.
Students receiving awards from CEPLER at the University of Birmingham
Students receiving awards from CEPLER at the University of Birmingham
  • The Aitchison Memorial Prize, which recognises a combination of degree result, character, leadership qualities, zeal and width in University activities: congratulations to Barbara Gonzalez-Jaspe.
  • The Beinart Memorial Prize, for the highest mark in International Human Rights: congratulations to Katie Knafler.
  • Oxford University Press Prize, for the best mark in Criminal Law: congratulations, again, to Katie Knafler.
  • J F Gregg Memorial Prize, which recognises the student with the highest first class degree achievement: congratulations to Joshua Jackson.
  • Charles McDowell Prize, for the highest achievement in Equity and Trusts: congratulations to Matthew Winkless.
  • Lady Barber Prize for Mooting, also commended for winning this year's Camm Cup: congratulations to Isabel Slippe-Quartey.
  • Petit Bursary Prize, which recognises overall outstanding performance and Holdsworth membership: congratulations to Grace Mullis.
  • Sir Henry Barber Prize, awarded to five students in recognition of their academic performance: congratulations to Joshua Jackson, Oliver Gordon, Harriet Matson, Umaeno Nkposong and Aimee Stokes.
  • Shoosmiths Prize, awarded to a student who has demonstrated enthusiastic involvement in extra-curricular activity: congratulations to Sacha Hibbitt.
  • Smalley Baker Prize, for the best mark in Jurisprudence: congratulations to Michael Coumas.
  • Maudsley Prize, for distinction in Land Law: congratulations to Muhammad Salehmohamed.
  • Slaughter & May, for the best mark in Law of Contract: congratulations to Yu Chan.
  • Ince & Co Prize, for the best mark in Tort: congratulations to Martha Barnes.
  • Irwin Mitchell Solicitors Prize, for the highest mark in Company Law: congratulations to Emily Russell.
Students receiving awards from CEPLER at the University of Birmingham
2017 Law School Awards sponsors

Photos by Kirti Devnani