Skip to main content

Two Birmingham professors were honoured at the prestigious Blavatnik Awards for young scientists 

On Wednesday 6 March 2019, Professors Rachel O’Reilly and Konstantinos Nikolopoulos were among the young scientists honored at the second annual Blavatnik Awards held at the prestigious Victoria and Albert Museum in London. Professor Rachel O’Reilly, Head of the School of Chemistry at the University of Birmingham, was a Finalist in the Chemistry category while Professor Nikolopoulos of the School of Physics and Astronomy, was the UK Laureate in Physical Sciences and Engineering. 

The Blavatnik Awards are the largest unrestricted cash prizes available exclusively to talented young scientists and engineers in the UK under the age of 42. Winners were selected by a jury of leading scientists and engineers in three categories: Life Sciences, Chemistry, and Physical Sciences and Engineering.  One Laureate in each category received a prize of US$100,000, while two finalists in every category received US$30,000 each. 

The following day, the honourees presented their research in a public symposium entitled Cure, Create, Innovate: 9 Young Scientists Transforming Our World that was held at the Science Museum, London on Thursday 7 March 2019. The original announcement of the finalists for the Blavatnik Awards was made on 9 January 2019. Full details of all the UK Laureates and Finalists can be found on the Blavatnik Awards’ website.