Partnership Management and International Engagement

Health Bus imageThe Research and Knowledge Transfer office takes an active role in the management of key strategic projects with the College of Medical and Dental Sciences. In addition, our College puts great emphasis on the international engagement to promote our College’s research and education excellence in the world.

Key strategic projects supported by the Research and Knowledge Transfer Office include:

What we do

The Project Management Team:

  • Offer management support of key facilities and Centres (e.g. Health Research Bus)
  • Provide advice to researchers delivering projects in MDS
  • Provide assistance to project managers in MDS

The International Engagement Team:

  • Provide the first contact point for our college's staff and our existing and potential partners worldwide and coordinate activities
  • Build strategic international partnerships that enhance the college's international reputation and competitive advantage in research and education
  • Support, develop and monitor international engagement across the college in existing and new markets, in particular activities relating to research, business links and city region partnerships
  • Monitor and review existing partnership arrangements for research collaboration and student recruitment, with particular focus on balance of markets and subject discipline and maximising opportunities available via existing networks such as U21

Find out more

Partnership Management Team

The Partnership Management Team provides a wide variety of support for strategic research projects and programmes within the College, including those that involve national and international partners.

MDS Head of Research Delivery
Dr Claire Potter

E:c.potter@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 81111

Cancer Research UK Birmingham Centre | Centre Manager
Mrs Claire Fenlon
E: 
C.M.Fenlon@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8043

Program Manager, NIHR Global Surgery Unit
Dr Sohini Chakrabortee
E: S.Chakrabortee@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8142

HDR UK Programme Manager
Mr Kevin Dunn
E: K.W.Dunn@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8139

Inflammation Project Manager
Mrs Rebecca Birch
E: r.birch@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8115

Centre Facilitator
Dr Lisa Fuller
E: l.fuller.1@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8114

Rheumatology Research Manager
Dr Parini Mankad
E: P.Mankad@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 3232

Strategic Project Officer
Mrs Linda Briscoe
El.a.briscoe@bham.ac.uk T 44 (0)121 414 9087 

NIHR Patient & Public Involvement Officer (SRMRC - Trauma Research)
Dr Laura Nice
E: L.Nice@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 8901/371 8533

BRC Network Manager
Dr Ryan Brown
E:  R.M.Brown.1@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8013

Tech Transfer Manager
Vasliki Kosti
E: V.Kosti@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8500

Global Surgery Project Manager
Audrey Nganwa
E: A.Nganwa@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8141

BactiVac Manager
Johanna Dean
E: J.E.Dean@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 415 8761

Cancer Project Manager
Bridget Bell
E: B.F.Bell@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8485

UK PSC Project Manager
Azimah Fiaz
E: A.Faiz@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8101

UK PSC Project Administrator
Sajdeep Grewal
E: S.Grewal.1@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8469

COMPARE Programme Operations Manager
Sally Utton
E: S.Utton@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 414 4511

Research Administrator
Alys Clarke
E: A.B.Clarke@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 8523

Research Administrator
Belinda San
E: B.San@bham.ac.uk T: 0121 371 4202

Comprehensive information on all of the topics covered by the MDS Project Management and International Engagement Team is available to all our researchers via the Research Support Handbook. There you will also find associated forms and guidelines available for download, plus contact details for specific members of staff.

For general enquiries to the MDS Research Development Support Team, please contact

E: rktoffice@contacts.bham.ac.uk T: +44 (0)121 414 9299

Or follow us on Twitter (@uob_mdsrkto)