Meet the research team

Find out about our trial team and the roles they play

The OCTAVE Trial is coordinated by the Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit (CRCTU) based at the University of Birmingham.

Chief Investigator has the overall lead researcher for a research project

Cohort Lead Investigators contribute to the OCTAVE Trial by deputising some of the Chief Investigator’s responsibilities for a specific cohort of the trial.

Trial Management Group (TMG) is a group of professionals from many different fields and organisations. The TMG meets several times a year in order to assist with overall management of the trial and to make important trial related decisions.

Access Committee (AC) established to ensure the appropriate governance of the research samples. Samples will be made available to academic researchers for ethically approved studies, subject to the approval of the Access Committee.

Principal Investigator at each of the hospitals running the OCTAVE Trial takes overall responsibility for ensuring that the trial is conducted correctly.

Chief Investigator: Professor Iain McInnes, Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences at the University of Glasgow

Cohort Lead Investigators:

Cohort Lead Investigators
Rheumatic/Inflammatory Diseases  

Professor Iain McInnes and Professor Stefan Siebert, University of Glasgow

Cancer (Solid Tumours) Professor Pam Kearns and Professor Daniel Rea,
University of Birmingham
Cancer (Haematology)  

Professor Gordon Cook, University of Leeds

Chronic Renal Disease

Dr Michelle Willicombe and Dr David Thomas,
Imperial College London

Chronic Liver and Inflammatory Bowel Disease  

Professor Eleanor Barnes, Oxford University

Stem Cell Transplant  

Dr Paul Miller, St George’s University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and
Dr Thushan de Silva, University of Sheffield

Laboratory lead:Professor Carl Goodyear, University of Glasgow

Other Co-Investigators:

  • Professor Doreen Cantrell, University of Dundee
  • Professor Ronjon Chakraverty, University College London
  • Professor Paul Klenerman, University of Oxford
  • Professor Gary Middleton, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Paul Moss, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Duncan Porter, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Alex Richter, University of Birmingham
  • Professor John Snowden, University of Sheffield
  • Dr Neil Basu, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Kim Orchard, University of Southampton
  • Miss Amanda Kirkham, University of Birmingham

Principal Investigators:

  • Professor Daniel Rea, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham
  • Professor Stefan Siebert, Glasgow Royal Infirmary, Glasgow
  • Professor Gordon Crook, St James’s University Hospital, Leeds
  • Dr Michelle Willicombe & Dr David Thomas, Hammersmith Hospital, London
  • Professor Eleanor Barnes, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford
  • Dr Ram Malladi, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge
  • Dr Kim Orchard, Southampton General Hospital, Southampton
  • Dr Robin Sanderson, King’s College Hospital, London
  • Professor John Snowden, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit (CRCTU) Trial Team:

CRCTU Director of Operations Dr Sarah Bowden
Trial Management Team Leader Ms Sophia Magwaro
Senior Manager Mrs Ana Hughes
Trial Coordinator Mrs Molly Harrison

Trial Management Group:

  • Professor Eleanor Barnes, Chronic Liver and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Cohort Lead
  • Dr Sarah Bowden, CRCTU Director of Operations
  • Mrs Ana Hughes, CRCTU Senior Manager
  • Professor Carl Goodyear, Laboratory Lead
  • Miss Amanda Kirkham, CRCTU Trial Statistician
  • Ms Sophia Magwaro, CRCTU Trial Management Team Leader
  • Dr Paul Miller, Stem Cell Transplant Cohort Lead
  • Professor Daniel Rea, Cancer (solid Tumours) Cohort Lead
  • Professor Stefan Siebert, Rheumatic/Inflammatory Disease Cohort Lead
  • Dr Thushan de Silva, Stem Cell Transplant Cohort Lead
  • Dr David Thomas, Chronic Renal Disease Cohort Lead
  • Dr Michelle Willicombe, Chronic Renal Disease Cohort Lead
  • Professor Gordon Cook, Cancer (haematology) Cohort Lead
  • Professor Pam Kearns, CRCTU Director and Cancer (solid Tumours) Cohort Lead

Chair: Professor Iain McInnes, Chief Investigator and Rheumatic/Inflammatory Disease Cohort Lead

Secretariat: Mrs Molly Harrison, CRCTU Trial Coordinator

Access Committee:

Members TBC