People at the IGES

Dr Klaus Richter

Director of IGES

Dr Klaus Richter is a Birmingham Fellow and Senior Lecturer in Eastern European History whose main field of research is the social history of modern Poland, the Baltics and Russia, with special interest in issues such as nationalism, ethnic conflict and concepts of political economy and statehood.

Email: k.richter@bham.ac.uk

richter-klaus-315

Dr Jost-Henrik Morgenstern-Pomorski

Deputy Director and DAAD-Fachlektor

Dr Jost-Henrik Morgenstern-Pomorski is DAAD Lecturer in European Politics with research expertise in European foreign policy and in the European External Action Service, the EU’s diplomatic service.

Email: j.morgenstern-pomorski@bham.ac.uk

Jost-Henrik Morgenstern-Pomorski

Dr Thomas Brodie

Dr Thomas Brodie is a Lecturer in 20th Century European History whose research primarily addresses the social and cultural histories of Nazi Germany, with a particular focus on the period of the Second World War and its aftermaths.

Email: t.o.brodie@bham.ac.uk

Thomas Brodie


Dr Charlotte Galpin

Dr Charlotte Galpin is a Lecturer in German and European Politics. Her research is concerned with European identities, EU citizenship, Euroscepticism and the European public sphere.

Email: c.a.galpin@bham.ac.uk

IMG_8361

Dr John Goodyear

Dr John Goodyear is a Lecturer in English as a Modern Foreign Language and a German Tutor researching post-war Anglo-German theatre life, specifically in the context of the Globe theatre in Oldenburg, Germany.

Email: j.goodyear@bham.ac.uk

Dr John Goodyear

Dr Elystan Griffiths

Dr Elystan Griffiths is a Senior Lecturer in German with a research focus on the relationship between social and political inequalities and German culture in the period between 1750 and 1850 and a particular interest in outsider figures.

Email: e.griffiths@bham.ac.uk

Photograph of Dr Elystan Griffiths

Dr Armin Grünbacher

Dr Armin Grünbacher is a Senior Lecturer in Modern History. His main interest lies in post war Germany and the political, social and economic reconstruction of the country (including Allied occupation policy) against the backdrop of the Cold War.

Email: a.gruenbacher@bham.ac.uk

Armin Grunbacher

Dr Jonathan Gumz

Dr Jonathan Gumz is a Reader in Modern History, whose intellectual interests focus on Modern Central and Eastern Europe, modern international history, global insurgency and counterinsurgency, as well as international law and the regulation of war.

Email: j.e.gumz@bham.ac.uk


Dr Tim Haughton

Dr Tim Haughton is a Reader in European Politics with a particular interest in electoral and party politics, electoral campaigning, the relationship between politics and government, the interaction between domestic and European sources of change, the relationship between Britain and the EU, the role of the past in the politics of the present and the domestic politics of Slovakia, Slovenia and the Czech Republic.

Email: t.j.haughton@bham.ac.uk

Dr Tim Haughton

Christiane Hoyer

Christiane Hoyer is a DAAD Lecturer interested in ways of integrating literary texts into language teaching, theories of language acquisition and intercultural differences.

Email: c.hoyer@bham.ac.uk

Christiane Hoyer

Professor Sara Jones

Prof Sara Jones is Professor in the Department of Modern Languages. Her current research analyses the political, social and cultural processes of remembering state socialist dictatorship.

Email: s.jones.1@bham.ac.uk

Photograph of Dr Sara Jones

Dr Katharina Karcher

Dr Katharina Karcher is a Senior Lecturer in German whose work focuses on protest movements and political violence in the 20th and 21st centuries and who has a particular interest in questions of gender, race, class, dis/ability, and political ideology.

Email: k.karcher@bham.ac.uk

katharina-karcher

Dr Deema Kaneff

Dr Deema Kaneff is a Reader in Social Anthropology with specific interest in Bulgaria and Ukraine. Her research is based on carrying out ethnographic fieldwork in particular rural and urban sites in for protracted periods of time (amounting to a number of years).

Email: d.kaneff@bham.ac.uk


Dr Simone Laqua O’Donnell

Dr Simone Laqua O’Donnell is a Senior Lecturer in European History who is interested in social, cultural and religious history from the early modern to the modern period (16th - 20th century) and who is currently working on networks of radical religious communities and on the role of children in Protestant missions in Britain and Germany.

Email: s.laquaodonnell@bham.ac.uk

Simone Laqua-O’Donnell

Dr Maria Roca Lizarazu

Dr Maria Roca Lizarazu is a Leverhulme Early Career Fellow in the Department of Modern Languages within LCAHM, specialising in contemporary German-language literatures of (post-)migration, German Jewish literature and culture, Holocaust literatures, and Memory studies.

Email: m.rocalizarazu@bham.ac.uk

Dr Maria Roca Lizarazu

Dr Anca Mandru

Dr Anca Mandru is a Gerda-Henkel Research Fellow interested in pre-World War Two socialism and nationalism, cultural history and the history of science, whose research focuses on Eastern Europe, particularly Romania. 

Email: a.m.mandru@bham.ac.uk

Anca Mandru

Dr Nicholas Martin

Dr Nicholas Martin is a Reader in European Intellectual History who researches modern intellectual history, in particular the ideas of Friedrich Nietzsche and their reception, as well as the cultural history of war, terrorism and political violence in modern Germany.

Email: n.c.martin@bham.ac.uk

Photograph of Dr Nicholas Martin

Dr Jasmin Nithammer

Dr Jasmin Nithammer is a Gerda-Henkel Research Fellow whose work focuses on the international, social, and economic history of interwar and postwar East Central Europe (especially Poland).

Email: j.nithammer@bham.ac.uk

Jasmin Nithammer

Dr Julian Pänke

Dr Julian Pänke is a Lecturer in European Politics who is interested in comparative foreign policy analysis, in German and East Central European politics, the impact of history on foreign policy making and specifically how tensions between nation- and empire building shape a state’s external behaviour.

Email: j.p.paenke@bham.ac.uk

panke-julian

Dr Maren Rohe

Dr Maren Rohe is a post-doctoral Research Fellow in the project ‘Post-Socialist Britain: Memory, Representation and Political Identity amongst German and Polish Immigrants in the UK.’

Email: m.rohe@bham.ac.uk


Dr Graham Timmins

Dr Graham Timmins is a Reader in International Politics, who is a specialist on European integration with a particular focus on the external relations and foreign policy role of the European Union.

Email: g.timmins@bham.ac.uk

timmins-graham

Dr Frank Uekötter

Dr Frank Uekötter is a Reader in Environmental Humanities working on environmental issues, both past and present, in a global context.

Email: f.uekoetter@bham.ac.uk

Dr Frank Uekotter

Dr Jutta Vinzent

Dr Jutta Vinzent is a Senior Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Art and Visual Culture who focuses on issues of migration and mobility with a particular emphasis on art and curatorial practices in historical perspective to challenge fixed notions of art.

Email: j.vinzent@bham.ac.uk

Photograph of Dr Jutta Vinzent

Dr Ruth Whittle

Dr Ruth Whittle is a Senior Lecturer in German Studies with an interest in the areas of language study and internationalisation. She has examined how to achieve transformational changes with language students as reflective learners.

Email: r.whittle@bham.ac.uk

Photograph of Dr Ruth Whittle

Dr Tara Talwar Windsor

Dr Tara Talwar Windsor is a cultural and literary historian of modern Germany and Europe, currently working as Research Fellow on the project ‘Knowing the Secret Police: Secrecy and Knowledge in East German Society’.

Email: t.windsor@bham.ac.uk


Professor Wilfried van der Will

Prof Wilfried van der Will is an Honorary Professor of Modern German Studies with Wide ranging research interests in 19th and 20th century German culture, philosophy and politics, especially from the end of the First World War to the present.

Email: w.v.d.will@bham.ac.uk


Dr David Zell

Dr David Zell is an Associate Research Fellow interested in cultural commemorations and the construction of cultural and political identity in the GDR.

Email: DJZ320@bham.ac.uk



View our current postgraduate researchers >