Cadbury Research Fellowship Scheme

The Department of African Studies and Anthropology has run an annual Cadbury research programme since 2002. 

Dr Morenikeji Asaaju holds this fellowship for 2022-24.

Dr Morenikeji: my research

The annual Cadbury research programme, 2002-2019

Having selected its research theme for the year, the department opened a call for visiting fellowship applications, and selected early career scholars who were based in African institutions.

When visiting fellows arrived in the department, they joined in a series of developmental activities which were organised around the annual research theme and open to members of academic staff and postgraduate students. These activities included presentations of work-in-progress, reading groups, writing groups, speaker events, research methods sessions, and one-to-one meetings. Visiting fellows also had access to the University’s excellent library and research collections.

The final element of the programme was the Cadbury conference, at which fellows presented their work, alongside other speakers from around the world. 

The department is grateful to the Cadbury family for its bequest which allowed us to establish this popular annual programme.

We hope to re-establish it in the near future.

Hear from previous Cadbury Fellows


Previous Cadbury Fellows have included:


  • Hamissou Rhissa (Institut de Recherches en Sciences Humaines, Niger)
  • Nana-Anna Abaka-Cann (Legal practitioner and University of Cape Coast, Ghana)
  • Fasil Giorghis (Architect, heritage activist, CEO of FG Consult, and Professor of Architecture at Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia) 
  • Simeon Koroma (Executive Director of Timap for Justice, Sierra Leone) 
  • Taibat Lawanson (University of Lagos, Nigeria) 
  • Tshenolo Masha (Head of Housing for the legal NGO ProBono.Org, South Africa) 
  • Sheila Minkah-Premo (Activist lawyer and legal researcher, Ghana) 
  • Aichatou Boubacar Mounkaila (Activist lawyer, Niger) 
  • Nompumelelo Seme (Legal practitioner and lecturer in law at the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa)


  • Patrick Abungu (Kenya)
  • Melvine Lilechi (Kenya)
  • Bosha Bombe (Ethiopia) 


  • Rosemary Obeng Hienneh (University of Ghana, Ghana)
  • Roseanne Njiru (Catholic University of Eastern Africa, Kenya) 


  • Issouf Binate (Université Alassane Ouattara, Ivory Coast)

  • Aboyomi Ogunsanya (University of Ibadan, Nigeria)

  • Yunus Dumbe (Kwame Nkrumah University  of Science and Technology , Ghana)

  • Aliyu Alabi ( Bayero University, Nigeria)

  • Emilie Roy ( Al Akhawayn University, Morocco )  


  • Muritala Monsuru ( University of Ibadan, Nigeria)

  • Tinashe Nyamunda (University of the Free State, South Africa)

  • Ezinwanyi Adam (Babock University, Nigeria) 


  • Anya Egwu (Covenant University, Nigeria)

  • Charles Edaku (Nkumba University, Uganda)

  • Oluwatoyin Omobowale (University of Ibadan, Nigeria)