Academic Staff

Birmingham Law School’s academic staff are nationally and internationally recognised leaders in teaching, pedagogical innovation, and legal research. Our staff is highly international, and we are proud of the diversity of approaches, scholarship, teaching, and backgrounds that are represented in our faculty.

Members of the faculty are frequently engaged by governments, the media, NGOs, and the private sector, bringing their academic expertise to bear outside of the lecture and seminar rooms of the School. Contact details are available on the individual profile pages.

Head of School:

Academic Staff:

NameJob titleEmailTelephone
Dr Shaimaa AbdelkarimLecturer in Law (Postcolonial Legal Theory and Critical Race Studies)
Dr Eunice Otuko ApioResearch Fellow in Gender and Transitional (0)121 414 3585
Professor Anthony ArnullBarber Professor of (0) 121 414 6295
Dr Henok AsmelashLecturer 414 6045
Professor Kate BedfordProfessor of Law
Deputy Head of School (Research)
Dr Charlotte 414 2658
Dr Dominic BerryResearch
Dr Lovleen
Dr Sophie BoyronSenior Lecturer
Deputy Director of Research (Impact) (0)121 414 3579
Dr Gavin ByrneSenior (0)121 414 6301
Dr Steven CammissSenior Lecturer in Law
Dr Meghan CampbellReader in International Human Rights (0)121 414 6315
Emily CarrollSenior Lecturer in Law (Employability and Legal Careers) 414 7025
Professor Aleksandra CavoskiProfessor of Environmental Law
College Director of Global Engagement
Dr John ChildReader in Criminal (0) 121 414 7075
Professor Janine Natalya ClarkProfessor of Gender, Transitional Justice and International Criminal 414 6316
Suzanne Cooper Law Teaching Fellow
Professor Sean CoyleProfessor of (0) 121 414 6321
Dr Mariela de AmstaldenLecturer in Intellectual Property and Innovation
Professor Fiona de LondrasChair of Global Legal (0)121 414 6318
Professor Sylvie DelacroixProfessor in Law and
Dr Rachael DicksonResearch
Dr Laura DowneyResearch
Professor Rilka Dragneva-LewersProfessor of International Legal 414 3146
Professor Nelson EnonchongBarber Professor of Law
Deputy Head of School (Staffing and Strategy) (0)121 414 6283
Mairead EnrightReader in Feminist Legal Studies 414 9518
Dr Javier S 414 6308
Dr Samantha 414 2234
Emma FlintBirmingham Fellow (Learning and Teaching) 414 3903
Dr Szilárd Gáspár-SzilágyiLecturer in EU and International Economic Law
Dr Damian Gonzalez-SalzbergSenior Lecturer in International Law and Human 415 8662
Dr Alan GreeneReader in Constitutional Law and Human Rights
Deputy Head of Research
Dr Pablo Grez HidalgoResearch Associate (Pandemic Review)
Professor Rosie HardingProfessor of Law and (0) 121 414 4960
Dr Adam HarkensResearch Associate
Dr Adrian HuntSenior Lecturer
Assessment and Progress Lead (0)121 414 6326
Dr Mohd HwaidiLecturer in Law (Teaching & Research) (0)121 4147487
Dr Sandra IngelkoferDAAD (0)121 414 8187
Dr Andreas KokkinisSenior
Dr Atina KrajewskaReader in (0)121 415 8343
Professor Robert LeeProfessor of
Dr Wenlong LiPostdoctoral Research Fellow in Law, Ethics and
Daniella LockResearch
Marcelo Carvalho LoureiroTeaching 414 33 44
Theresa LynchSenior (0) 121 414 6328
Dr Maureen MappSenior (0)121 414 2886
Dr Emma J MarchantLecturer in International Criminal
Dr Natasa MavronicolaReader in Law 414 9038
Professor Karen McAuliffeProfessor in Law and Language
Birmingham Fellow 414 7269
Paul McConnellSenior Lecturer
Head of Global Engagement
Head of Careers & Employability (0) 121 414 2606
Dr Kieren 414 3629
Professor Jean V. McHaleProfessor of Health Care (0)121 414 6294
Dr Claire McIvorSenior (0)121 414 6324
Dr Catherine MitchellReader in Private 414 6299
Dr Lydia MorganLecturer in
Professor Geoffrey MorseProfessor of Corporate and Tax (0)121 414 6314
Dr Katharina MöserSenior (0)121 414 6329
Dr Yoana Fernanda Nieto ValdiviesoResearch Fellow in Gender and Transitional
Dr Laura NoszlopyResearch
Dr Walters NsohSenior Lecturer in Law
Programme Director, Online LLM in Energy and Environmental Law (0)121 414 3106
Dr Emma OakleyLecturer in 414 6285
Dr Synda ObajiTeaching +44(0)121 414 7978
Dr Olukunle Davis OkeTeaching
Dr Alexander (0)121 414 6284
Dr Jenny PapettasSenior (0) 121 414 5778
Dr Rehana ParveenSenior 414 2099
Professor Muireann QuigleyProfessor of Law, Medicine, and 414
Dr Tara Lai QuinlanLecturer in Law and Criminal
Dr Shamini RagavanLecturer in Law
Deputy Director of Foundation for Social Sciences, Business and Law (Dubai)
Deputy Programme Director of the LL.M in International Commercial Law (Dubai) 42492327
Dr Joseph Tarquin Foulkes RobertsResearch Fellow in Law and Philosophy
Dr Luca RubiniReader in International Economic Law
Deputy Director of the Institute of European Law (0)121 414 6304
Dr Samantha 414 2099
Professor Mohammad (Shahab) ShahabuddinProfessor of International Law & Human 414 9197
Amy TabariLecturer and Solicitor
Head of Birmingham Law School Pro Bono Group
Professor Lorraine TalbotProfessor of Company Law in 414 3631
Linden ThomasReader in Clinical Legal Education and Pro Bono
Solicitor and Acting Head of the Centre for Professional Legal Education and Research (CEPLER) (0)121 414 5780
John (0)121 414 9240
Dr Bosko TripkovicSenior Lecturer in Law
Director of Postgraduate Research 414 7501
Professor Martin TrybusProfessor of European Law and Policy
Director, Institute of European Law (0)121 414 6330
Keith UffVisiting
Catherine VincentTeaching 414 3637 (reception)
Dr Marianne WadeReader in Criminal (0)121 414 4790
Dr Ben WarwickReader in Human Rights Law
Deputy Head of School (Education) 414 6288
Professor Lisa WebleyChair in Legal Education and Research
Head of Birmingham Law School (0)121 414 6866
Professor Karen YeungInterdisciplinary Professorial Fellow in Law, Ethics and (0) 121 414 6298
Professor Richard YoungProfessor of Law and Policy
Deputy Director of Research (Funding) (0)121 414 7603
Dr Chen ZhuSenior 414 8564