Closed days and public holidays

The University closes for 15 days in each academic year, ie from 1 October to the following 30 September. Eight of these days are public holidays: the Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day holidays; Good Friday and Easter Monday; May Day; Whit Monday; August Bank Holiday Monday.

The other seven days are set in advance by the University Council, and will normally include: days which would otherwise be working days between Christmas and New Year; and the Tuesday and Wednesday after Easter.

Please note that the Spring Bank Holiday in 2022 will be moved to Thursday 2 June and Friday 3 June will be an additional bank holiday to mark The Queen's Platinum Jubilee.

University Closed days (CD) and Bank Holidays (BH)

2021

Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day BH)

Friday 2 April (Good Friday BH)

Monday 5 April (Easter Monday BH)

Tuesday 6 April (CD)

Wednesday 7 April (CD)

Monday 3 May (May BH)

Monday 31 May (Spring BH)

Monday 30 August (August BH)

Thursday 23 December (CD)

Friday 24 December (CD)

Monday 27 December (Christmas Day BH - transferred from Sat 25 December)

Tuesday 28 December (Boxing Day BH – transferred from Sun 26 December)

Wednesday 29 December (CD)

Thursday 30 December (CD)

Friday 31 December (CD)

2022

Monday 3 January (New Year’s Day BH – transferred from Sat 1 January)

Friday 15 April (Good Friday BH)

Monday 18 April (Easter Monday BH)

Tuesday 19 April (CD)

Wednesday 20 April (CD)

Monday 2 May (May BH)

Thursday 2 June (Spring BH: see note above)

Friday 3 June (Platinum Jubilee BH: see note above)

Monday 29 August (August BH)

Thursday 22 December (CD)

Friday 23 December (CD)

Monday 26 December (Christmas Day BH - transferred from Sun 25 December)

Tuesday 27 December (Boxing Day BH – transferred from Mon 26 December)

Wednesday 28 December (CD)

Thursday 29 December (CD)

Friday 30 December (CD)

2023

Monday 2 January (New Year’s Day BH – transferred from Sun 1 January)