New leadership for the Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences

Paulus Kirchhof
Professor Paulus Kirchof

Professor Paulus Kirchhof, the Director of the Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences for the last two years, will take on a new role as Director of the Department of Cardiology and Chair in Cardiology at the University Heart Center Hamburg on 1 April.

Professor Roy Bicknell will take over as Director. Professor Bicknell will be supported by two Deputy Directors; Professor Ed Rainger (Director for Research) and Dr Victoria Heath (Director for Teaching).

Professor Kirchhof will pass on the role of Director of the British Heart Foundation Accelerator Grant, awarded to the Institute in 2019, to Professor Steve Watson who holds a British Heart Foundation Professorship.

“I am honoured to be given this interim role and actively look forward to working with Steve, Ed and Victoria in building a world renown Cardiovascular Research Institute,” said Professor Bicknell. 

Professor Kirchhof, who will continue to carry out research in Birmingham, stated: “I am delighted to see that our exciting research and teaching continues in ICVS under an excellent new leadership team.”

Find out more