Chevening Scholarship

Level of study
Postgraduate taught masters
Subject area
Arts and Law, Engineering and Physical Sciences, Life and Environmental Sciences, Medical and Dental Sciences, Social Sciences
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, The, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Congo, Republic of the, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, The, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea, North, Korea, South, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Type of Award
Deadline for applying
To be confirmed

Award Description

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The programme makes awards to outstanding scholars with leadership potential from around the world to study postgraduate courses at universities in the UK.

The Chevening programme began in 1983 and has developed into a prestigious international scheme. Chevening Scholars come from over 116 countries worldwide (excluding the USA and the EU), and this year the Scholarships will support approximately 700 individuals. There are over 44,000 Chevening alumni around the world who together comprise an influential and highly regarded global network.

The programme provides full or part funding for full-time courses at postgraduate level, normally a one-year Master’s degree, in any subject and at any UK university.

Value of Award

Most Chevening Scholarships cover:

  • tuition fees
  • a living allowance at a set rate (for one individual)
  • an economy class return airfare to the UK
  • additional grants to cover essential expenditure

Some Scholarships cover part of the cost of studying in the UK; for example, tuition fees only or allowances only.

Eligibility Criteria

Chevening Scholarships are for talented people who have been identified as potential future leaders across a wide range of fields; including politics, business, the media, civil society, religion, and academia. Applicants should be high calibre graduates with the personal, intellectual and interpersonal qualities necessary for leadership.

Applicants must:

  • Meet the academic requirements for their chosen course(s) of study
  • Have a good standard of written and spoken English, and meet the Chevening Scholarships language requirements as well as the language requirements of their chosen course(s) of study
  • Be a citizen of a Chevening country listed below, and intend to return there at the end of the period of study
  • Have a minimum of two years' work experience
  • Not be employees, relatives of employees, or former employees (who left within the past two years) of Her Majesty’s Government (including British Embassies and High Commissions), a partner (sponsor), a sponsoring UK university, or a staff member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities
  • Not have previously studied in the UK under a UK Government-funded scholarship
  • Not have dual British nationality (unless you are a Citizen of a British Overseas Territory)

Please note that there is no age limit. More information on eligibility is available in the guidance for applicants.

The FCO currently offers Chevening Scholarships to citizens of the following countries:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia,Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bermuda,Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Overseas Territories,Brunei, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands,Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia,Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, DR Congo, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea Bissau,Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica,Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho,Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Malaysia, Marshall Islands,Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montserrat, Montenegro,Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria,Occupied Palestinian Territories, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru,Philippines, Pitcairn Island, Republic of Congo, Russia, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands,Somalia, Somaliland, South Africa, South Caucasus, South Korea, South Sudan,Suriname, Sri Lanka, St Helena, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines,Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago,Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine,Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

How to Apply

Applications for Chevening Awards closed on 7 November 2017 and will reopen in August 2018 for opportunities to study in the UK in 2019/2020. 

To apply for a Chevening Scholarship, you must complete and submit an online eChevening application form

If you have registered on the Chevening website you will be notified when the eChevening site is open for applications. The opening and closing dates for each country will be available on the country pages of the Chevening website. Applications received after the closing date for your country will not be considered. In some countries paper applications may also be accepted. If, exceptionally, paper applications are accepted in your country this will be stated on your country page of the Chevening website. Please note that the closing date for receipt of paper applications, if allowed, may be earlier than for electronic applications. 

For information on applying for a Chevening Scholarship for the following year, sign up now for alerts at and read the guidance for applicants at Full information about deadlines and priority subjects for countries which offer Chevening Scholarships will be available on the country pages of


Chevening Scholarships Secretariat