The Leigh Douglas Memorial Prize

Level of study
Doctoral research
Subject area
Arts and Law, Social Sciences
EU, Overseas (Non-EU), UK
Type of Award
Deadline for applying
None. Open all year.

Award Description

The Leigh Douglas Memorial Prize was established jointly in 1986 by the Leigh Douglas Memorial Fund and BRISMES in memory of Dr Leigh Douglas who was killed in Beirut in 1986. The prize is awarded annually to the writer of the best PhD dissertation on a Middle Eastern topic in the Social Sciences or Humanities awarded by a British University in the previous calendar year.

Value of Award

The current value of the prize is £600 for the winner and £150 for the runner up.

Eligibility Criteria

The award is applicable to theses on a Middle Eastern topic in the Social Sciences and Humanities defended succesfully in 2019.

How to Apply

To enter, please send the following to by midnight on 31 January 2020:
  • An electronic copy of your thesis.
  • A letter of nomination from your supervisor. 

Entering your thesis for this award does not preclude entering it for other awards.


Culture and collections

Schools, institutes and departments

Services and facilities