Group Members


Professor Paula M Mendes

Professor Paula M Mendes

Professor of Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology

School of Chemical Engineering

Paula M Mendes is a Professor of Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology in the School of Chemical Engineering. She leads the Mendes Research Group , which conducts interdisciplinary research in the area of nanoscience and nanotechnology, and develops methods for controlling the structure and functionality of materials at the molecular and nanometer scale.

The research group works at the interface ...

+44 (0) 121 414 5343

Post Doc Members

Dr Marcos Fernandez-VillamarinDr Marcos Fernandez-Villamarin 

Molecular imprinting of nanoparticles (2018)

  • PhD in Chemistry, University of Santiago de Compostela

Francia AllabushDr Francia Allabush

Modification of DNA aptamers for sensing applications (2018)

  • PhD in Chemistry, University of Birmingham
  • MChem in Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry, University of Warwick
  • Placement project, University of Tasmania
  • Research Chemist, MacDermid

Nasim MahmoodiDr Nasim Mahmoodi

The effect of vibration on bacteria (2018)

  • PhD in Mechanical Engineering (micro-engineering and nanotechnology), University of Birmingham
  • MEng in Mechanical (biomedical) Engineering, University of Birmingham

Joshua NormanDr Joshua Norman

Development of new glycan sensing molecular imprints for cancer biomarkers (2020)

  • PhD Chemical Engineering, University of Birmingham
  • MRes Advanced biological sciences (structural biology), University of Liverpool
  • BSc(Hons) Applied Biomedical Sciences, Liverpool John Moores University
  • HCPC registered Biomedical Scientist

PhD Students

Dario BazzoliDario Bazzoli

The effect of vibration on bacteria (2018)

  • Bachelor degree in general chemistry at the Università degli studi di Milano
  • Master degree in Computational/Inorganic molecular chemistry at the École Normale Supérieure de Paris and UPMC Sorbonne Université

Laura BrooksLaura Brooks

Molecularly Imprinted Nanoparticles for Selective Glycan Detection (2018)

  • MChem in Chemistry – Cardiff University

Laura BuccoliLaura Buccoli

Surface-Confined Molecular Logic Gates For Sensing (2018)

  • Esrasmus at Akademia im. Jana Długosza w Częstochowie
  • Masters in Chemical Science (university of Cagliari)

Pushpa PatelPushpa Patel

Evaluation of the proton exchange membrane fuel cell (PEMFC) nanocatalyst on platelets (2018)

  • MSc by Research in Molecular Pharmacology, Coventry University
  • BSc (Hons) Biological Sciences, Coventry University

Charlie KeeneCharlie Keene

Development of Smart Surface for Biosensing (2019)

  • MChem in Chemistry, University of Lincoln

Miguel Alena RodriguezMiguel Alena-Rodriguez

Development of highly selective and high-affinity glycan-binding entities for early and accurate detection of aggressive Prostate Cancer (2019)

  • Placement project, IQAC (Barcelona, Spain)
  • MSc in Organic Chemistry, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Madrid, Spain)
  • BSc in Chemistry, Universidad de Málaga (Malaga, Spain)

Daniel CarrollDaniel Carroll

Smart switchable biological surfaces for on-demand biosensing (2020)

  • BSc (Hons) Chemistry, University College Dublin
  • Academic internship, Synthesis and Characterization of Gelatin Methacrylate to form Hybrid Hydrogels for 3D Printing and Biomedical Applications, University College Dublin

Hannah williamsonHannah Williamson

LifETIME CDT Student- Switchable Surface Biosensors for Cell and Gene Therapy Bioprocessing (2020)

  • BSc Medical Sciences with Industrial Placement (AstraZeneca), University of Leeds
  • Research and Development Graduate Scientist, AstraZeneca

Sohail GhaniSohail Vasim Ghani

Development of synthetic glycan affinity reagents to study the capsular structure of fungal pathogens (2020)

  • MSc in Medicinal Chemistry, Cardiff University
  • BSc (Hons) in Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Bath

Daniel kgautlheDaniel Kgautlhe

Glycan Sensing technology for early and accurate cancer diagnosis (2021)

  • MEng in Chemical Engineering, University of Birmingham

Past Members

PhD Students

Cait Costello
Oliver Curnick
Alice Pranzetti
Gaurav Gupta
Minhaj Lashkor
Zarrar Hussein
Nga Yip
Eleonora Cantini
Monika Köpf
Fatima Zia
Barbara Gomes
Philippa Mitchell
Francia Allabush
Alice Di Pasquale
Yazmin Kaur Tagger
Barbara Simoes   
Giuseppe Di Palma
James S. Walker
Kamlesh Patel
Joshua Norman 

Research Fellows

Dr Paul Yeung (former PhD student)
Dr Frankie Rawson
Dr Parvez Iqbal
Dr Alex Stephenson-Brown
Dr Aaron Acton
Dr Lewis Hart
Dr Eduardo Anaya-Plaza
Dr Craig Ward
Dr Seyed Tabaei
Dr Setareh Vafaei
Dr Joshua Simon Gibson
Dr Stefano Tommasone
Kamlesh Patel (former PhD student)