Facade of the University of Birmingham Medical School

The Academy of Medical Sciences has elected 58 exceptional biomedical and health scientists to its prestigious Fellowship – including University of Birmingham Professors Fang Gao Smith, Hisham Mehanna, Richard Riley and Shakila Thangaratinam.

The Fellowship is awarded to researchers in recognition of their remarkable contributions to advancing biomedical and health sciences, ground-breaking discoveries and translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society. Fellows are at the heart of the Academy's work, which includes nurturing the next generation of researchers and shaping research and health policy in the UK and worldwide.

The expertise of Fellows elected spans a wide range of disciplines, which is reflected in the specialisms of the four Birmingham Fellows:

Professor Andrew Morris PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: “It is an honour to welcome these brilliant minds to our Fellowship. Our new Fellows lead pioneering work in biomedical research and are driving remarkable improvements in healthcare. We look forward to working with them, and learning from them, in our quest to foster an open and progressive research environment that improves the health of people everywhere through excellence in medical science.”

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Wednesday 18 September 2024.

The Academy of Medical Sciences is the independent, expert body representing the diversity of medical science in the UK. Its mission is to advance biomedical and health research and its translation into benefits for society. The Academy's elected Fellows are the most influential scientists in the UK and worldwide, drawn from the NHS, academia, industry and the public service.