Steering committee

Research and teaching in the centre is overseen by a steering committee consisting of senior academics drawn from multiple schools across the university.

Professor Mike Hannon


Professor Hannon is the Director of the EPSRC Research and Training Centre in Physical Sciences for Health, as well as holding the Chair in Chemical Biology at the University of Birmingham. Mike was Director of Birmingham's Institute of Advanced Studies from 2015-19. His research lies at the interface between chemistry and the life sciences and is focused on metal complexes in biology and medicine as both imaging agents and therapeutics.

Professor Liam GroverProfessor Liam Grover

Liam Grover is a Professor in Biomaterials Science, whose research focuses on the application of materials science and chemical engineering to the design of novel technologies for the regeneration of tissues.  His work focusses on the interactions that occur between materials and biological systems with an aim to develop materials that encourage the healing process.

Professor Janet Lord

janet lord

Professor Lord is director of the Institute of Inflammation and Ageing and the MRC-ARUK Centre for Muscoskeletal Ageing Research. Her research focuses on the innate immune system, and on how ageing of the immune system predisposes adults to inflammatory diseases such as Rheumatoid Arthritis and COPD. Through her work she aims to translate research findings into interventions, to improve immunity and health in old age.

Professor Ann LoganProfessor Ann Logan

Professor Logan is the Regenerative and Reconstructive Medicine Theme Lead for the NIHR Surgical Reconstruction and Microbiology Research Centre; the Regenerative Medicine Theme Lead for the NIHR Healthcare Technology Co-operative in Trauma Management and also leads the Neuroscience and Ophthalmology Research Group based in the College of Medical and Dental Sciences.

Professor Damien WalmsleyDamien Walmsley

Professor Walmsley is a Professor of Restorative Dentistry, and a world leader in dental ultrasonics. He is Scientific Advisor to the British Dental Association, and is actively involved in both clinical and research activity.

Professor Ales LeonardisProfessor Ales Leonardis

Professor Leonardis is Chair of Robotics in the School of Computer Science, and Co-Director of the Computational Neuroscience and Cognitive Robotics Centre. His research interests include robust and adaptive methods for computer/cognitive vision, object and scene recognition and categorisation, statistical visual learning, object tracking, and biologically motivated vision - all in a broader context of artificial cognitive systems and robotics.

Professor Helen CooperProfessor Helen Cooper

Professor Cooper, Deputy Head of School of Biosciences, is expert in mass spectrometry. Her research interests focus on gas-phase ion chemistry of biomolecules and other biologically-relevant species. A particular interest is radical-driven fragmentation. More recently, her interests have focused on ambient surface mass spectrometry and ion mobility spectrometry. She is also an EPSRC Established Career Fellow.


Dr Louise ArmstrongLouise Armstrong

Dr Armstrong is the industry representative on the steering committee. With an academic background in analytical chemistry and extensive experience in the commercial side of physical and life sciences technologies she is able to advise on research strategy to ensure centre projects have direct impact and commercial relevance.

Dr Daljeet Bansal DaljeetBansal

Dr Bansal is the Programme Manager for NIHR Trauma MedTech Programme.

EPSRC Representative