The Higher Education Futures institute (HEFi) is delighted to announce the winners for the HEFi Awards for Educational Enhancement and Innovation 2017/18. These awards are for academic and professional services staff who provide, and contribute to, an inspirational student experience.   

The awards cover four themes that recognise a range of education-related activity:

Educational Innovation

Winner: Libby Finan – Student Experience Team,  CAL  
Winner: Nick Kettridge – School of Geography Earth and Environmental Sciences,  LES  
Winner: Fay Julal – School of Psychology,  LES
Winner: Ian JeffersonEdward Tarte, Michael Burrow, Aziza Mahomed – School of Engineering,  EPS  
Highly commended: Andreas Friese – School of Physics and Astronomy,  EPS  

Educational Leadership

Winner: Elaine Fulton – School of History and Cultures,  CAL 
Winner: Natalie Rowley – School of Chemistry,  EPS 
Winner: Celia Greenway – School of Education,  CoSS 
Highly commended: Tzany Kokalova-Wheldon – School of Physics and Astronomy,  EPS
Highly commended: Holly Foss – School of LCAHM, CAL 

Research-intensive learning and teaching

Winner: Amelia Swift – School of Nursing,  MDS 
Winner: Dominique Moran – School of Geography Earth and Environmental Sciences,  LES 
Highly commended: Anke Buttner – School of Psychology,  LES 
Highly commended: Roisin Madigan and Mary Blanchard - School of Biosciences, LES

Supporting student learning

Winner: Clare Ray – Institute of Clinical Sciences, MDS
Winner: Gemma Tandy – Careers Network, AS
Highly commended: CAL Welfare Team: Adrian Powney, Iain Cormack, Sonia Suman, Libby Proctor, Kate Hands-Harvey, Dee Partridge, Jo Elkington, Penny Hewlett - Various Schools,  CAL

The winner of each award will receive £1,000 (or an equal share, if the award is made to a team). There will be a celebratory awards event held on February 8th 2018, to which all the winners are invited.