Meet the Team - Birmingham Centre for Energy Storage

The Birmingham Centre for Energy Storage (BCES) convenes researchers from across the University of Birmingham to drive innovation from the laboratory to market. Established in 2013 with a £12 million investment from UK industry and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), the Centre has grown significantly over the past seven years.

Today we are leading the Supergen Energy Storage Network+, a partnership between 12 institutions in the UK, focused on creating and sharing expertise on energy storage. As a Centre, we are currently involved in over twenty international research projects and thirty national research projects with a combined value of £90m.

Professor Yulong Ding
Professor Yulong Ding 
Director (Birmingham Centre for Energy Storage) and Co-Director of the Centre for Sustainable Cooling
Professor Emma Kendrick
Professor Emma Kendrick 
Co-Director (Birmingham Centre for Energy Storage) 
Professor Peter Slater Professor Peter Raymond Slater
Co-Director (Birmingham Centre for Energy Storage)


Professor David Brook 
Professor of Energy Materials
Dearn-karlProfessor Karl Dearn 
Head of Civil Engineering
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Antzella FivgaAntzela Fivga
Supergen Energy Storage Network+ Manager
Dr Yongliang Li Professor Yongliang Li 
Recyclable & Renewable Energy Storage and Transformation Group Lead
Jonathan RadcliffeDr Jonathan Radcliffe 
Energy systems and Policy Analysis Group Lead 
Dr Adriano SciacovelliDr Adriano Sciacovelli
MODES Group Lead
Dr Grant Wilson Dr Grant Wilson
Energy Informatics Group Lead 
Xiao-Ping ZhangProfessor Xiao-Ping Zhang 
Co-Director (Grid Integration)
Lada ZiminaLada Zimina
Project Manager, Energy Research and Innovation